COVERED BRIDGES

COVERED BRIDGES OF PREBLE COUNTY, OHIO HISTORY

A special Thank you to the Preble County Convention and Visitors Bureau for their help promoting our beloved bridges. Visit their website to learn more about the "hot spots" in Preble County!

Click Here   

BRUBAKER BRIDGE- 1887

The 88 foot Brubaker Bridge was built across Sam's Run on Aukerman Creek Road in 1887. The name of the road is now Brubaker Road. The bridge superstructure was built by E. S. Sherman for $986 and T. J. Smith built the abutments for $1,422. The bridge was originally sided full height but after automobiles brought higher speeds, the sides were opened up for safety reasons to give better sight distance through the sharp road curves in and out of the bridge. A side effect of removing the siding was an increase in scenic value and the bridge became one of the most picturesque in southwestern Ohio. Tastes in color had changed by the time the bridge was built and it was painted white instead of the usual red. The Brubaker Bridge is located one mile northwest of Gratis, known earlier as Winchester. It is near the Preble County Historical Society's Center, with each complementing the other in historic value. The Brubaker Bridge would be the easiest and most logical one in the county to bypass with a relocated road when a new bridge is constructed across Sam's Run.